Virginia International RacewayWith the GTO class championship already in their hip pocket, the Serpent Racing 2 team from Palatine IL led 41 of the 69 laps on the way to the Overall and GTO class win at Virginia International Raceway. The first seven laps were led by Charlie Coleman's WFO Racing team, but Serpent Racing 2 team was on a mission and made it into the lead on lap 8. Following closely behind were the defending National Champions, Rick Beggs' RnR Cycle Repsol team with Rick Beggs and Krishna Pribadi aboard. RnR dogged the overall leaders for the next 4 laps before zipping into the lead briefly on lap 12. That was all it took to motivate the GTO Champions, who kept out in front for the next 28 laps, only giving the lead up to the RnR squad when they pitted for the mandatory rider change. RnR managed to hold on to the lead for 21 laps until the Serpent team of Calvin Martinez and Dave Ebben passed them for the final time on lap 61 and cruised to the finish with a 31 second margin of victory. RnR finished in second, the only other bike to finish the full 69 laps, and Martin Lazor's Euro Racing team finished in third overall to round out the podium. The win moved the Serpent Racing 2 Team into the Overall point lead, passing their Serpent Racing GTU Team and establishing a 14 point lead going into the final round at Daytona.

#81 in the lead
Serpent Racing 2 #81 leads the pack
2008 ASRA Team Challenge Overall National Champions

The A&J Recognition Solo Challenge saw another first time winner as Nicholas Cicci from Horsehead NY, on a Honda 600, finished with a one lap lead over the Suzuki 1000 mounted Jeff Lee on his BioTech Racing entry. The third place rider, Vas Rajan from Park City UT, was crowned the new Solo champion for 2008. His 60 point lead over Garrett Rick with one round to go gives Rajan his first A&J Recognition Solo Challenge National Championship.

After their win at Road America, James Gang/Hoban Racing Team of Paul James and Jeff Johnson found themselves in position to challenge for the GTL Championship. Trailing the Shakka 4 Life team of Michael Jordan, Steve Wilkins and Paul Grey by just 6 points, the James Gang/Hoban Bros. Team redoubled their efforts and made the trek to VIR to put the pressure on. From the start, the James Gang Buell led the class and never looked back, finishing 1-lap up on the second place Suzuki ridden by Brad Faas and Alan Nelson and the third place Redline Performance team of Steve Kennedy and Gary Cain. The Shakka 4 Life team finished in sixth 5-laps behind the class winner. The victory by the James Gang moved them into a ten point lead going to the final event at Daytona.

In the GTU class, Central States Racing team with Matt Flowers and Paul Gilchrist saw their title hope slip a little as the RnR Cycle Repsol Kawasaki took the win and valuable points away. The Central States team finished third, 2-laps behind the winners and 1-lap behind the second place Grease Monkey Racing Team of Alex Shaw, Eric Helmbach and Eric Wilson. Class point leader Serpent Racing 1 finished in fifth, allowing Central States to close the gap to 17 points with one race left in the series, a tough job for any team looking to come from behind to win the title. Serpent Racing only needs to finish sixth or better at Daytona to secure the championship.

Since the GTO title is already decided, it was the overall points that pushed the Serpent Racing 2 Team to ride hard at VIR and their efforts produced a1-lap victory over the Euro Racing Team of Martin Lazor and Steve Davis' Silverback Racing team who finished in third place. The Silverback Team's third place clinched second place in the GTO championship behind the new champions, Serpent Racing 2.

The final round of the Team Challenge Series will take place on October 17, 2008 at Daytona International Speedway.

Complete Team Challenge Results

© Championship Cup Series and American SportBike Racing Association, all rights reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | Copyright Information | Advertising | Webmaster | Contact