AMA Press Release August 15, 2008

Mid Ohio
The Championship Cup Series will help run and operate the event, set for September 19-21 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course< in Lexington, Ohio.

The AMA is proud to announce that it is partnering with the Championship Cup Series (CCS) to help run and operate the 2008 AMA Sports Road Race Grand Championships, set for September 19-21 at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio.

The 2008 AMA Sports Road Race Grand Championships will be run and operated by CCS. CCS classes, including youth classes, will be fielded. CCS rules and regulations will be utilized, and CCS officials will handle officiating duties. AMA Sports No. 1 plates will be awarded to class winners.

Eligibility UPDATED 8/15/08
  • Riders must be members of the AMA in order to register for the event. Membership will be sold at registration.
  • No professionally licensed riders may compete in the 2008 RRGC. Any rider not holding a professional license for 4 or more years may compete as an amateur. (as of 1/1/08)
  • All Riders must be age ten (10) by the close of registration on September 15, 2008. All minor riders must have both AMA and Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course Minor Waivers filled out and submitted by September 3, 2008.
  • All novice-licensed riders will be eligible to race at this event. The 2008 RRGC is an expert and novice rider event.
Classes UPDATED 8/15/08

Lightweight SuperTwins

Lightweight SuperSport
Middleweight SuperSport
Heavyweight Supersport
Unlimited SuperSport

Lightweight SuperBike
Middleweight SuperBike
Heavyweight SuperBike
Unlimited SuperBike

Lightweight Grand Prix
Middleweight Grand Prix
Unlimited Grand Prix

Recognized Clubs

Licenses from the following clubs/organizations will be recognized for the 2008 AMA Road Race Grand Championships:

AMA American Motorcyclist Association
CMA Canadian Motorcycle Association
OMRRA Oregon Motorcycle Road Racing Association
AFM American Federation of Motorcyclists
AHRMA American Historic Racing MC Association
RRSW Road Race Southwest
ASMA Arroyo Seco Motorcyclist Association
SMRI Sandia Motorcycle Racing Incorporated
CCS Championship Cup Series
CMRA Central Motorcycle Roadracing Association
WERA WERA Motorcycle Roadracing
CRA Central Roadracing Association
WMRRA Washington MC Road Racing  Association
WSMC Willow Springs Motorcycle Club
LRRS Loudon Road Racing Series
USBA Utah Sport Bike Association
MRA Motorcycle Roadracing Association
USGPRU United States Grand Prix Riders’ Union

© Championship Cup Series and American SportBike Racing Association, all rights reserved.
Privacy Statement | Terms of Use | Copyright Information | Advertising | Webmaster | Contact